Converting a Standard Door into a Pocket Door

Glass paned doorWe have a lot of doors in our house and I get the wonderful job of refinishing each and everyone of them. To date, of the 16 doors in the house, I’ve only finished two of them.

Currently, I’m working on a door that used to go into the three season sleeping porch upstairs. It won’t be going back there though. Its going to be converted into a pocket door separating the first floor from the basement.

Here are before and in progress shots. The door has been stripped and now needs to be sanded, stained, varnished … you get the point. I’ll post an update when I’m further along in the process.stripped door

5 Responses to “Converting a Standard Door into a Pocket Door”

  1. Looks great!

  2. Hey I did the same thing! check out some great pocket door hardware at the Brass Knob or get reproductions (like I did)

    http://houseofantiquehardware.com/s.nl/sc.10/category.12/.f

  3. Erik– Great minds think alike. I did order some hardware from the link you posted. This is going to be my first of two pocket doors. So far, the project is coming along fine.

  4. pocket watches for men…

    [...]Converting a Standard Door into a Pocket Door « Washington Kaleidoscope[...]…

  5. This article was exactly what I was searching for. Gratitude for writing this information. I am glad when Bing searches bring me exactly what I am looking for. Keep up the good writing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

