Then and Now

Park View Christian Church ca. 1915Then: The Park View Christian Church, ca. 1921. Along with the Park View Elementary School, one of the oldest structures identified with Park View.

New Commandment Baptist ChurchNow: New Commandment Baptist Church. The building has taken its licks over the years, but is still largely intact. While the church still has its original stained glass windows, there is a pain or two that is broken. On the side of the structure is a row of fan lights. Originally, these had green slag glass panes, which are mostly gone now, but they could easily enough be replaced/repaired.
Considering the importance of this building in the community’s history, I’d love to see it restored. I doubt that will happen, though, until the subsidized housing across the street from it changes to something else.

4 Responses to “Then and Now”

  1. DC history junkie Says:

    I recently found your website and really enjoy all the features, especially the “this date in history.” What does bother me, however is the obvious borrowings from recent Shorpy.com posts without any reference (e.g. http://www.shorpy.com/node/5499). My first love, in terms of DC historic photography, is Shorpy. Your failure to adequately reference memes derived from this site is a real turn-off. I really am thankful for all the postings here, but simply ask that you give credit where credit is due.

  2. Thank you for your comment, and I do hear what you are saying. Just to be clear, I’ve gotten many of the historic photographs from the Library of Congress’ Prints and Photographs Collection, which are freely available to anyone willing to spend the time mining their collection. Shorpy also has mined that collection. I will concede that I need to do a better job of citing the photographs from LC. I did refer to Shorpy on the York Theater, as there was information that was unique to that site I wanted to point people to. If you look closely at the Park View Church photograph here and on Shorpy, you will notice that they are different images. Look, for example, at the fence across the sidewalk in front. I chose to use the earlier image.

  3. DC history junkie Says:

    Thank you for your considered response. I really do love your website and do not want to discourage any freedom you have to post. Yes, the posted images do derive from the Library of Congress and are in the public domain. My concern, and i do think you have responded appriately, is that the interwebs should provide an accurate representation of cross-posted links acknowledging the origination of new knowledge associated with archival photos.

    Again, I really do think our website is fabulous! And I do understand that different people can arrive at the same endpoint via different paths. My hope is that that contributions of new information are appropriately acknowledged by cross-linking

  4. Absolutely! This has been a good exchange and I expect this site to be stronger because of it.

Leave a Reply

