Written in Stone

Brickwork smokestackThis really brought back some good memories when I saw this. This stack is located behind the Lofts at 701 Lamont St., NW. I don’t know what it used to say … mostly because the stack above the “I” has been rebuilt, so those letters are lost.

What I personally love about smoke stack signs is that they are so permanent, well, at least until the stack is torn down.

When I was growing up, there was one such stack behind the Dean’s Milk plant, except that the smoke stack proudly said BORDENS, so, we all knew which milk company originally built the plant.

I’d love to know if there are any other stacks like this in the city. I know that the new Yale lofts has YALE in the side of the building. Are there other examples?

Leave a Reply

