Lost and Found: Remnants of the Heurich Brewery

As I was walking around Georgetown yesterday I looked up, and had an moment where I had to take a double take. I looked up at a very, very boring building and the bottom of 34th street where is intersects with Cady’s Alley. If you are familiar with the area, you’ll know its behind the Ukrainian Embassy. What was so amazing about this otherwise nondescript building it that it had to remarkable round relief sculptures of horses’ heads. You can see the two heads below.Heurich Horse HeadsWhat is so great about these heads is that I instantly recognized them as originally belonging to the old Heurich Brewery that was in Foggy Bottom. Its nice to see that they’ve survived. I have to admit, I’m envious that they aren’t on my house. You can see them as they were originally installed at the Heurich Brewery below.truck-of-the-littlefield-alvord-co-express-parked-at-the-christian-heurich-brewing-co-washington-dc1(Library of Congress, #cph 3b06495)

Leave a Reply

