Evacuation Routes Noted

Evacuation routeI’ve recently noticed a proliferation of Evacuation Route signs attached to certain street signs, most notably Georgia Ave., Pennsylvania Ave., Wisconsin Ave., and Connecticut Ave. I’m sure there are many more.

I’m sure these are to draw attention to the official routes out of the city decided after the 9/11 events, but I have to tell you, I really don’t think it will make much of a difference. Traffic has a hard enough time functioning around here on a good day, and even if you have it flow in one direction during times of emergency, if everyone in the city needed to leave at the exact same moment I’m putting my money on stagnation.

I’m mean, who are we kidding. When Houston evacuated for Rita, it was a nightmare, and that was in response to a hurricane that folks had known about days in advance. In DC, the reason for evactuation would likely not be known more than a few hours in advance (best case scenario).

3 Responses to “Evacuation Routes Noted”

  1. I’ve noticed these too. It seems they’re pretty ineffective. Shouldn’t there at least be an arrow pointing in the direction one should evacuate?!

  2. I’m betting that they plan to use police directing traffic. Still, I don’t know what the point would be. Personally, I’d be using surface streets anyway, or better, walking.

  3. […] Routes Confusing I noted back in April that new evacuation signs had hit the streets, and wondered if anyone really would know what to do […]

Leave a Reply

