Update on Park View Elementary and Bruce Monroe School

Park View ElementaryI’ve been trying to find out for a while what’s going on with Park View Elementary and the Bruce Monroe School. Chancellor Rhee previously made the decision to rebuild Bruce Monroe, then close the historic Park View Elementary and move the school there.

Things over at Bruce Monroe seem to have stalled. Park View has some work going on, mostly with the front stairway, but things seem to be up in the air. I’ve contacted Chancellor Rhee directly a few times, and the only answer I’ve received from her is that they are “putting together an update” on the plans for those schools. I’ll post that update when it is known.

I did get an answer of sorts from the Chancellor’s office to the same question by submitting it through the City’s website. I strongly suspect this is not a current answer, or Chancellor Rhee could have rattled it off to me when I initially asked the question over two weeks ago.

The answer I got was:

There is no longer a definite time line, but sometime in the next 2-3 years they hope to have the new Bruce Monroe school built.

Once the Bruce Monroe school is ready, the Park View school could 1) be turned over to a Charter school, 2) have a DC Government program there, or 3) have the recreation center that is next door relocated there.

Of these three, the only one that makes any sense would be a DC Government program. I don’t see the sense in closing a school because of low attendance just to turn around and open another school in the same building. If the numbers justify a school at this location, then Park View Elementary should remain open and be refurbished. That could easily be done with mobile classrooms during the construction phase.

7 Responses to “Update on Park View Elementary and Bruce Monroe School”

  1. im a student in bruce monroe

  2. Hi Alvaro, that’s neat. Can you tell me what its like to be a student there?

  3. […] DC Kaleidescope seems to have info (from back in May) that a new, improved Bruce Monroe School will be built and […]

  4. I love yoսr blog.. νery nice colors & theme. Dіd you create tҺіs website ʏourself or Ԁid ʏoս hire ѕomeone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my oԝn blog and
    wouuld like to fіnd oսt whегe u got
    thіs from. many thanks

  5. Wow! In the end I ggot ɑ blog from where I ƅe capable of genuinely obtain useful
    data гegarding mү study аnd knowledge.

  6. Hellߋ! Ӏ coulɗ ɦave sworn I’ve ƅeen tо ƴour
    blog befогe bսt аfter going thrugh a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyɦow, I’m ɗefinitely delighted I ϲame across it and
    I’ll be book-marking іt and checking bback frequently!

Leave a Reply

