My Garden is Coming Along

Mayapples

Mayapples

I’m thrilled with my garden so far this year, as many of the plants I was worried about last year seem to have made it through the winter. Many of these are hardy, but based on availability, and the need to completely rework and amend the yard last year, they weren’t always dug up and moved when they should have been. Some even had to be dug up, endure a 14 hour car trip, and then get replanted two days later.

Giant Solomon's Seal sprouting

Giant Solomon's Seal sprouting

The mayapples all seem to be happy this year, even though I may still need to move them again this fall. One thing I’m really happy about is that the giant Solomon’s seal is just starting to come up. As you can see by the photo, they don’t look like much now, but they will eventually get to be about four feet tall or so.

The lily of the valley are still coming out, and the allium have nice buds on them too. While we’ve had tulips for several weeks now, and the first batch is about done, the late bloomers haven’t begun to pop yet. It looks like its going to be a green summer.

Allium

Allium

One Response to “My Garden is Coming Along”

  1. Nice. I’m so happy I am done with my spring planting already. Now its time ot drink beer and watch plants grow

Leave a Reply

