Mayer Mitchell Building Illuminated Again

Mayer Mitchell BuildingWhen the Mayer Mitchell Building at 251 H Street, NW, was first completed and occupied, it displayed this long streak of light that looked like a backward “7” when you saw it from the south.

I had to say, at the time, I really didn’t like it. I found the lighting to be harsh … I really don’t like bad lighting.

Then, one day last fall, the lights went off. Oddly, I grew to miss them. It became a bigger distraction not having the building lit now that I knew it was supposed to be.

Imagine my surprise to find the building was illuminated again last night. I love it, and hope they don’t ever turn them off again.

Leave a Reply

