First Pocket Door Conversion Project a Success

Space prior to pocket door installationMy first attempt to convert a standard door into a pocket door is finally done. As you’ll see from the images, it turned out great (but of course, I’m biased).

After sanding the door, I stained it with English Chestnut, then gave it two coats of varnish. I was toying with three coats, but decided two would be fine.

We then installed it into the opening already built. For the door hardware, we opted for the Johnson pocket door product as it is something we were already familiar with.

Keep in mind, if you want the Johnson product, you need to go to Lowe’s … the City Home Depot no longer carries it because people kept stealing the parts.

Once the door was varnished, we hung it. Then sealed the wall with sheet rock.

All that’s left is to install the trim and millwork. I have to create/refinish that, but it won’t be until I get my next pocket door refinished and installed. Stay tuned for progress on that product.

Images after the jump

Door refinished and awaiting hardware and installation
New hardware installed in converted pocket door
Pocket door installed

Drywall being installed

Pocket door and drywall complete

7 Responses to “First Pocket Door Conversion Project a Success”

  1. Pocket door theft is a big problem at Home Depot? Seriously?

  2. Well, the problem was with the Johnson brand hardware. It has individual parts, and people started to rip open new boxes to get parts they were missing. Then the next person would buy the hardware only to find it was missing parts. The cycle continued … so Home Depot dropped the product.

  3. Over the River Says:

    So people pocket pocket door parts?

  4. In a word: Yes.

  5. Over the River Says:

    I wonder if Peter Piper pockets …

  6. @Over the River … you’re killing me. Its all I can do to keep a straight face.

  7. […] Pocket Door Conversion Project Following up on my earlier pocket door conversion is this one. Luckily, I think these are the only two I’ll have to do. I wish I could say the […]

Leave a Reply

