Pocket Door Project Continuation

Doweling guideThis second pocket door I’ve been working on gave me a bit of a challenge, but I’ve finally figured out how to do it. Unlike my previous project, this door had never been cut for for door hardware, so I was working with a solid piece of pine.

I know it was too big to put in a drill press, or, at least any drill press I had. I also know I didn’t want to do it free hand because I couldn’t risk drilling in at an angle. There wasn’t enough room for error.

So, in looking over all the possible tools out there, and keeping price in mind, I settled on a doweling guide. You know what? It worked. I still had to do a lot of chiseling and there was quite a bit of labor involved, but this created a good sized hole from which I could continue.

Oh, one other thing … I learned that you really, really need sharp chisels in the right widths. It makes a world of difference.
Doweling guide
Drilled out door ready for chisel

5 Responses to “Pocket Door Project Continuation”

  1. anxiousmodernman Says:

    Nice work!

  2. Thanks. I actually have it done and ready to install, so there’ll be an update soon.

  3. Over the River Says:

    Well done and excellent repurposing of the dowel jig. You are so right about sharp chisels!

  4. I have to say, sharpening chisels has got to be one of my least favorite tasks at present. What I need is a bench grinder, but constructing the workshop is not one of the higher priorities right now.

  5. […] and Installed I’ve finally finished and installed my second … and last … pocket door project. This door was originally painted white, and I was lucky that the paint came off as well as it […]

Leave a Reply

