Refrigeration, Not Even 100 Years Ago …

White Mountain RefrigeratorsIn trying to piece together the development of Park View, I found this interesting item from June, 1910. The homes in the add are Kennedy Brothers first homes in their development of the Cammack estate, which they purchased in 1909.

Here, White Mountain Refrigerator is advertising that Kennedy Brothers’ have chosen to equip their new homes with their refrigerator. Just so you don’t miss it, in this context a refrigerator contains a block of ice that keeps the food cold. Electric refrigerators won’t be introduced until 1916.

3 Responses to “Refrigeration, Not Even 100 Years Ago …”

  1. I love these house advertisements. Where do you do the research to find them? I’d love to find if there is one for my house.

  2. Truth be told, sometimes it’s just luck. I’m doing a lot of digging on this neighborhood right now, and my focus is on Kennedy Brothers and I have an interest in Rock Creek Church Road. This ad happened to pop up because it mentions both.

  3. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.

    It’s always helpful to read articles from other authors and practice something from other web sites.

Leave a Reply

