Visit to Smoot Lumber

Smoot LumberI finally got around to getting supplies for the balustrade I need to rebuild. Because my goal is to restore it rather than just build one, I was limited on where I could go for my lumber.

I opted to go to Smoot Lumber located on Edsel Road in Alexandria. They’ve been in business since 1858 and if you are undertaking a restoration project the chances are always good that they’ll be able to get you what you need. Depending upon how fussy you are and how much money you want to spend, they’ll even mill what you want.Smoot building materials

I was able to find stock that matched the remnant from the old balustrade. That was great. Now, I just need to set the time aside to set up the miter saw, get the nail gun, and have at it.Truck load of balustrade materials

2 Responses to “Visit to Smoot Lumber”

  1. Smoot Lumber is great! We had them copy the crown moulding from one of our old windows so that we can use it on our new windows. And their selection of stock mouldings is the best I’ve seen in the DC area.

  2. […] latest example is the repair and replacement of the balustrade above my upper porch. This project began at the end of July 2009 and was only just completed in October of this year — which I guess makes that a two-year and […]

Leave a Reply

