What, Exactly, are Park View’s Borders

Like a lot of newer residents in the District, I want to know about my neighborhood. I want to know the current ins and outs as well as the past. I want to know my neighbors. I want to build on their past contributions to the neighborhood and work with them to accomplish new goals.

The only real snag I’ve encountered is determining just where my neighborhood is. After doing some digging, I’m still not 100% certain that I have Park View’s exact boundaries correct. To that end I would like to know a few things:

  • What is the southern border of Park View?
  • Where is Pleasant Plains located?
  • What was the area bounded by Sherman, Park Road, Georgia and Harvard originally known as?

From the 1921 Directory and History of Park View, as well as a 1917 Washington Post article describing an election in Park View, the following borders are outlined:

The area bordered by the south side of Gresham street to north side of Rock Creek Church road, on the east side of the Soldiers’ Home grounds, both sides of Georgia avenue from Gresham street to Park road, then north on the west side of New Hampshire avenue to Rock Creek Church road.
Park View Boundaries 1910(Map taken from C.S. Hammond & Company Atlas, 1910)

Compare those borders with the ones you’ll find on Wikipedia, where the boundaries are Harvard on the south, Sherman on the west, New Hampshire and Rock Creek Church Road on the north, and Park Place on the east.Park View Boundaries 2009
While I’ have no problem accepting these borders, I have no idea if they are accurate.

I’d like to know what other people consider the borders to be, particularly the southern border. I’d also be interested in knowing if there are any official descriptions of neighborhood borders.

6 Responses to “What, Exactly, are Park View’s Borders”

  1. There are no official descriptions of neighborhood borders. The city got out of that business long ago.

    Neighborhoods shift and change over the years. Have you read “Washington at Home?” (New edition coming next spring). She’s got the best, IMO, discussion of neighborhood boundaries.

  2. I haven’t read it, but it sounds interesting. I’ll have to check it out. Is it worth owning a copy, or merely borrowing a copy?

  3. It is well worth owning a copy, but as the new edition is coming soon and it is hard to buy the older edition, I’d check it out in the library and wait for the new edition.

  4. I had always assumed that the boundaries were the Reservoir and Howard U on the south side. No need to leave out one or two random streets. Where is Gresham supposed to belong, under a description that Park View ends at Harvard or the like?

  5. The Reservoir and Howard makes sense to me. To add to the confusion is the sign at Georgia and Irving that has Columbia Heights on the top, Park View on the north side, and Pleasant Plains on the south, indicating that Pleasant Plains starts at Irving. I think “Pleasant Plains” is completely confusing and confused. Once being the name of the estate that all the land was on, its been applied in different ways to different areas in the following years.

Leave a Reply

