Steamer Charles Macalester

With a capacity between 1600 & 1700, the iron steamer Charles Macalester was christened by Mrs. Lily Macalester Laughton, regent of the Mount Vernon Ladies’ Association of the Union in honor of her father. It was constructed in 1889 in Wilminton, Delaware, expressly to transport tourists between the 7th Street wharves and Mt. Vernon. Having a cafe on board, the Charles Macalester was operated by the Mount Vernon and Marshall Hall Steamboat Company, which advertised as the only company permitted to sell tickets of admission to the grounds and mansion of Mt. Vernon. steamer-charles-macalester

The timetable at the time this postcard was printed was:

For Mt Vernon: leaves 10:00 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. from May 1st to November 1st

Leaves 10:00 a.m. and 1:45 p.m. from November 1st to May 1st.

12 Responses to “Steamer Charles Macalester”

  1. I am very interested in getting a good scan of this postcard for a history project I am currently working on for Mount Vernon. Can whoever posted the image drop me a message? Thanks so much, Stephen McLeod

  2. DON BARKER Says:

    I have a beautiful photograph of this steamer taken around the landing at Mt. Vernon, this is a very early picture.\
    If anyone is interested, let me know. I have the negative from the orig camera.

  3. Mr. Barker:

    I would love to see a copy of your image of the Charles Macalester, taken at the Mount Vernon Warf. I am working on the 150th anniversary of the Mount Vernon Ladies’ Association and am uncovering all sorts of interesting images. Feel free to contact me at SMcLeod@MountVernon.org . Looking forward to hearing from you. Thanks, sTephen

  4. I have a ticket to ride this ship.

    The ticket is for June 12, 1914, for the annual trip of Central High School in Washington D. C., The cost of the ticket is .25
    Central High School closed in 1950 and is now called Cardoza.

    I looked this up because of the ticket. I remember riding the Uss Mount Vernon, and wanted to find out more about the Charles Macalester , because I’m writing an artical on the ticket.

    I have a postcard of the USS Mount Vernon.

    Just want to share

  5. Philip Mertens Says:

    Looking for any info regarding John or Fred Mertens, formally of Cumberland, Md., who ran the steamboat line from sometime after 1917 until unknown. Also, looking for any info regarding John’s family/descendants.

  6. hello mr. barker, i would love to know how much you might charge for a copy. thank you so much, toni

  7. robert sackett Says:

    My Grandfather, Henry (X) Ackley Sackett cut silhouettes (profiles) on the Charles Macalester from 1890-1892. I have just acquired three silhouettes from 1890, Washington D.C. On the back they are stamped:Taken on the New Mt. Vernon Steamer CHARLES MACALESTER by Sackett.

  8. i have a chales macalester ticket i was wondering if it was worth anything how would i find outthank you

  9. Eric Schilling Says:

    My great-grandfather, John F. Bailey, captained this ship at one time in his career. Would also like to get a copy of the Mt. Vernon picture if it’s available Mr. Barker.

  10. don barker Says:

    toni the print is free

  11. don barker Says:

    all who want a print … is free just use my email and your home address… will send you same.. don

  12. I have a picture of the steamer that my Uncle took back round 1905. It was on a glass negative that I got the picture off of. I no longer have the glass negative . I put all the pictures I got off the negatives onto a disc . I did this by putting my video camera in neg. mode and videoing the negatives . Two negatives make a positive. If you would like, I could send the pics if I had an email address.

Leave a comment