Billy Simpson’s House of Seafood and Steaks: A 2009 National Register of Historic Places Recipient

billy-simpsons-house-of-seafoodRecently, the Washington Business Journal  reported that 16 District properties had achieved historic status. Among them was Billy Simpson’s House of Seafood and Steaks located at 3815 Georgia Avenue, NW, which was placed on the National Register of Historic Places on March 17, 2009.

The two-story building was constructed in 1923 as one of a row of four nearly identical attached brick commercial/residential buildings on the east side of Georgia Ave. All four buildings still exist today.

The structure at 3815 has been altered from its original design over the years. There was a fire in 1947 which may be responsible for the destruction of the original storefront. The change to the Tudor style, including herringbone and basket-weave patterned brick, simulated leaded-glass windows, and the use of false half-timbering may date to 1956 when Kushner’s Restaurant changed to Billy Simpson’s House of Seafood and Steaks.billy-simpsons

Billy Simpson’s is historically significant for playing a notable role in the social and political culture of the District of Columbia’s African American community. The restaurant was frequented by many notable people in politics and government, and the owner, William W. “Billy” Simpson, was an avid supporter of civil rights and anti-war causes.

The entire National Register of Historic Places paperwork on this property, which includes the historic images found here, can be found by going here>> billy-simpsons-interior

(Edith and Billy Simpson. On the ceiling is a light up map of Africa)

24 Responses to “Billy Simpson’s House of Seafood and Steaks: A 2009 National Register of Historic Places Recipient”

  1. […] that the owners of Marvin are thinking about opening a similar concept in the former location of Billy Simpson’s House of Seafood and Steaks, a historic Petworth restaurant and civil rights rallying […]

  2. […] to Petworth According to the Washington Business Journal, there may be new life in the former Billy Simpson’s House of Seafood and Steaks located at 3815 Georgia Avenue, […]

  3. […] and American Ice Company), takes its name from a historic restaurant on the same property, Billy Simpson's House of Seafood. In its heyday, Billy Simpson's was one of the few white tablecloth establishments that served […]

  4. […] building itself looks great inside and out and I certainly like that the former Billy Simpson’s is on the National Register of Historic Places. I predict that this will be a very popular destination in the Petworth/Park View area. Spirits […]

  5. I grew up in Poughkeepsie, N.Y., in the 60’s, but both my parents went to Howard University. Every year, my family went to D.C. at least once, and Billy Simpson’s was de rigueur. I am now 56 years old, and there is no restaurant on the face of the planet that fills my heart with as much warmth and love as Billy Simpson’s. I can still taste the grilled pork chops and still see the cozy, dark-lit warmth. Thanks for the memories.

  6. I’m glad to learn that the restaurant hasn’t been forgotten. My father was a part of the local political scene and I remember going there once, although it may have been twice. Left a big impression of a twelve or thirtheen year old- myself. When we traveled to New York City I remember going to the “Red Rooster” restaurant which has reopned with new ownership.

  7. obviously like your website however you have to take a look at the
    spelling on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I to
    find it very troublesome to tell the reality then
    again I’ll certainly come again again.

  8. […] Engine Company No. 24 (since moved and incorporated as the Metro chiller plant), and the former Billy Simpson’s House of Seafood and Steaks (now Chez Billy). Of those, only 750 Park Road is officially in Park View. Recognizing that we do […]

  9. Thank you, I have recently been searching
    for information approximately this subject for a long time and
    yours is the greatest I’ve discovered till now. But, what about the bottom line? Are you positive about the supply?

  10. ” This is when the term “bit” from the phrase “bittorrent” comes from. An SEO marketing company usually takes your internet traffic and increase it immensely from the trickle with a raging torrent of visitors who are targeted and seeking to use YOU. You have located the appropriate site if you are looking for Nba store coupons 2013.

  11. Admiring the hard work you put into your site and detailed information
    you present. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.
    Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  12. If you are a frequent business flier into Silicon Valley from the
    Los Angeles area, it’s essential that you have the most efficient form of communication as possible while on your trip.
    The functions with the high-speed technology that the gizmo maintains
    are really miraculous. You can send feedback through the app or visit their website or post
    a new discussion in the Guard Buddy’s forum.

  13. we, supposed, was that will attract the neighbouring blacks.
    Not only does a digger are aware that it is extremely possible he might look for a lots of gold with almost no trouble, but,
    worse still, he knows he could work very difficult without getting any gold at all.

    Much maudlin sentimentally, and far empty declaration,
    are already written and talked about crime, and
    against the punishment of criminals with death.

  14. What you need to do is sign up for free trial at any Voice over Internet Protocol service and
    hire soft phone providers. ‘ Some companies also pay an amount
    to the customers towards the cost of unauthorized calls if it is stolen.
    Nowadays soft phone providers ensure that you don’t have to shed lots of money on buying costly
    hardware or PBX system.

  15. Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to check it out.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Terrific blog and brilliant style and design.

  16. Next, if you want to do more than just update your maps,
    you run the risk of deleting something that you weren’t supposed to.
    I instructed Pay – Pal, the entire story and they listened very
    carefully. Phishing is mostly used on a wider scale to target
    a large amount of yahoo accounts.

  17. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty
    penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% sure.

    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos

  18. I’m pretty pleased to find this website. I wanted to thank you
    for your time due to this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every bit of it and I have you bookmarked
    to check out new stuff on your website.

  19. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an impatience
    over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come
    more formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside
    case you shield this hike.

  20. Most other reverse look ups force that you pay
    for a name. Let’s face the facts, in the present spiraling
    economic times, it is virtually impossible to hire
    a private investigator in the event you suspect your husband or wife or spouse
    is unfaithful to you; unless you might be one with the fortunate ones out there with an abundant bank account.
    So, should you inform your assailant whom you suspect
    is cheating which you would like to generate
    your move every a day and he / she forfeits the game, it could mean that your opponent is by
    using a Scrabble cheat board or anagram solver.

  21. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really
    nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on.
    All the best

  22. What’s up, all is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s actually excellent, keep
    up writing.

  23. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your webpage? My website is in the very same area of interest
    as yours and my users would really benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Many thanks!

  24. Hello, I think your website might be having browser
    compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Chrome, it looks fine but
    when opening in Interndt Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wantedd to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, superb blog!

Leave a comment